PA Teen Driving Law Signed by Gov. Corbett

Posted on: November 2nd, 2011       Attorney Thomas Newell

On Oct. 25, 2011, Pennsylvania Governor Tom Corbett signed “Lacey’s Law” which was passed by the PA Legislature in an attempt to reduce PA car accident fatalities caused by teenage drivers. For the first 6 months after receiving a junior license, a driver under the age of 18 will not be permitted to have more than 1 non-related passenger unless the driver’s parent or guardian is also a passenger.

After this 6 month time period, a junior license driver may have up to 3 passengers under 18 so long as they have not received any violations or been responsible to any degree for a motor vehicle accident. These restrictions apply until the junior driver turns 18. Violations of PA’s seatbelt law are now a primary offense for those under the age of 18.

If you or a loved one have been seriously injured in a PA car crash, please contact Thomas J. Newell at 800-980-4842. Attorney Newell has been representing Pennsylvania auto accident victims for over 30 years. Call today for a free home consultation. His website of details his legal experience since 1981.